How To Delete Instagram Account Permanently
Instagram is a photo and video sharing app, which is owned by Facebook. It allows users to edit and upload photos and short videos through its application.
Recently they have also launched Reels which is a rip-off of the famous Chinese app TikTok. Instagram has gained massive popularity in recent years. If for some reason, you want to delete your Instagram account,
we have given below the step by step process for permanently deleting your Instagram account.
How To Delete Instagram Account Permanently 2020
Instagram Disable Account
Instagram account can be disabled temporarily or deleted permanently. If you disable your Instagram account, your profile, photos, likes and comments will be temporarily hidden.
You can activate your account by re-logging into your account. Instagram can only be disabled from a computer or mobile browser and not through the Instagram app. You can disable it through the app,
but eventually you will be redirected to the login page on your browser, so its advisable to do it through the browser in the first place.
How To Delete Instagram Account?
Difference Between Disabled Account & Deleting Account?
While disabling your account is temporary, deleting your account is non-recoverable and permanent. Once an account is successfully deleted, it cannot be recovered.
When you delete your account, your profile, comments, likes, photos, videos and followers will be removed permanently.
Once an account is deleted, the specific username cannot be used again for creating a new account. For security reasons, you must login to be able to delete your Instagram account.
Before deleting your account you might want to download a copy of your photos and posts, as you won’t be able to do so post deletion of the account as you won’t have access to Instagram’s Data Download Tool later.
Here’s a step by step process for permanently deleting your Instagram account.
- Follow these instructions carefully to easily delete your account and avoid any complications.
STEP 1 to 3: Login to your Instagram Account.
STEP 1 Login to your Instagram Account using the Instagram app.
STEP 2 Click on the Profile icon on the bottom right corner.
STEP 3 Click on the 3 horizontal lines which opens the sub-menu for settings in the app.
STEP 4: click on Settings.
STEP 4 In the bottom of the sub-menu, click on Settings and then click on the Help tab.
STEP 5 to 6: click on the Help Then Help Center.
STEP 5 In the help tab, you will see Help Center, click on the Help Center tab, clicking on Help Center tab will take you out of the Instagram App and open your browser. Instagram will open the help and support page automatically for you.
STEP 6 From the help and support page, click on Managing your account.
STEP 7 to 9: click on Delete your account.
STEP 7 You will see a list of tasks, from that list click on Delete your account.
STEP 8 Click on the middle option which says; How do I delete my Instagram account? A sub menu will open with a warning sign stating the consequences of deleting your account and an option to back up your information.
STEP 9 Click on option 1; which says Go to Delete your account page. This will redirect you to Instagram login page in your browser.
STEP 10 to 11: Delete Your Account page.
STEP 10 Login to Instagram and you will be redirected to Delete Your Account page. You can see some final words from Instagram before deleting your account. On the bottom of the page, there will be a sub-menu asking the reason for deleting your account.
STEP 11 Choose the appropriate reason for which you are deleting your account and if your reason is not mentioned in the list, click on something else and write you own reason for deleting your account.
STEP 12: permanently delete my account.
STEP 12 Fill your password and click on permanently delete my account button. Voila! You are done, your account has been permanently deleted.